“Doctors”

doctors

Another medical drama (with a very original name) that I was looking forward to because of Kim Rae Won, Park Shin Hye and Lee Sung Kyung. The teasers also promised an interesting love story between a teacher and a student. You can say I was hooked.

It starts well: the storyline seems interesting and has a lot of potential. Park Shin Hye’s character is friggin badass in the beginning (I had major girl crush moments). But the plot quickly becomes boring. There’s no development in terms of characters and the story until the very end of the drama. The love story also did not meet my expectations. I was hoping that with experienced actors the romance would be more adult-like but for some reason, the writers went for the cutesy romance (and if you’ve seen Kim Rae Won’s movies…he is far too rough and sexy to be cute). Also, I feel like they never got out of the student-teacher relationship completely, which made it a bit awkward to watch.

I was most impressed by the supporting actors, especially Kim Min Suk. I will definitely be keeping my eye on him. Lee Sung Kyung does a great job with making her character as annoying as possible. Park Shin Hye is always good; I just wish her character stayed badass throughout the whole drama. (I did find one thing about her acting that annoys me and I will never unsee it but I will not ruin her acting for you; you’re welcome)
It was so weird seeing Kim Rae Won in a good-guy role and acting cute… I’ve seen some of his movies and damn I like him in a serious setting, being rough and dirty more. Nothing wrong with his acting in “Doctors” but like Shin Sung Rok will forever be the villain; Kim Rae Won will forever be the Korean gangster in my eyes.

This drama has a good start, mediocre plot and quick ending. Watch it if you like the actors, it is watchable but there’s nothing mind-blowing about it.

Cast:

Kim Rae Won as Hong Ji Hong
hong-ji-hong

Park Shin Hye as Yoo Hye Jung
yoo-hye-jung

Lee Sung Kyung as Jin Seo Woo
lee-sung-kyung

Yoon Kyun Sang as Jung Yoon Do
yoon-kyun-sang

Leave a Reply

