“Cheese in the Trap”

cheese-in-the-trap

I haven’t read the “Cheese in the Trap” webtoon thus I had no idea what to expect from this drama. There was a big hype around this drama, which is why I decided to give it a go.

The plot is…interesting. It is relatable and funny but then sometimes it suddenly takes very dark turns. It has a lot of twists which sometimes are predictable but other times you really don’t know what to believe. And I really liked that I was taken aback by the turn of events.
I know there was this up rage about the ending. I was mad at it as well at first but I understand why they did it like that and I’m completely fine with it (the author of the manhwa didn’t want the drama’s ending to be similar to the webtoon’s, therefore they had to do something different). I have come to like the open ending a lot. Makes you work your own imagination on how the story will go on. And it is a very good promotion for the webtoon by making people interested on how that will end.

The cast was really good. Kim Go Eun nailed her role; she is one of my new favorites based on this performance.
Seo Kang Joon is forever my favorite flower boy. I love when the writers use actor’s talents and in this case, how they used Kang Joon’s piano playing skills. Simply put he is amazing.
I want to applaud Lee Sung Kyung for this extraordinary and magnificent performance. She is quickly becoming my favorite actress on this kdrama land. She took the money-crazed bitch role to a whole new level. I’m truly in love with Sung Kyung.
With Park Hae Jin I’m a bit torn. Maybe it’s the character that was supposed to be this serious and emotionless because he seemed a bit too manhwa-like. It was as if he just stepped out of a webtoon and it did not seem to go well with the other realistic and totally relatable characters. Maybe it’s just me and he nailed the role but I just can’t quite figure out whether I like his performance in this drama or not. I guess I need to read the manhwa to figure that out.

I truly recommend this drama. It is light but it is unexcitingly dark at times and it is relatable (yes, I like relatable stuff). Just be warned that the ending might not be what you are expecting but still the story makes up for it.

Cast:

Park Hae Jin as Yoo Jung
yoo-jung

Kim Go Eun as Hong Seol
hong-seol

Seo Kang Joon as Baek In Ho
baek-in-ho

Lee Sung Kyung as Baek In Ha
baek-in-ha

Park Min Ji as Jang Bo Ra
jang-bo-ra

Nam Joo Hyuk as Kwon Eun Taek
kwon-eun-taek

Leave a Reply

