High school drama “Boys Over Flowers 2”?

the heirs

I bet that everyone who are drawn in to the kdrama world didn’t get past this drama “The Heirs” . This was THE highly anticipated drama of 2013 with a long list of star actors and idols. I’m not going to lie, I was pretty excited for it. I mean Park Shin Hye, Lee Min Ho, Kim Woo Bin in the same drama? Who wouldn’t watch that? And of course Kang Min Hyuk (huge CNBLUE fan here), Krystal, Park Hyung Sik just added more to the good-looking trio.

When I first heard about the cast I was really really excited but as I read about the storyline…I was really really let down. I mean another high school drama? Boys Over Flowers 2? For Lee Min Ho, Park Shin Hye and Kim Woo Bin it’s definitely the time to move on from high school as they barely pass as college students. The cast was really impressive but was it really necessary to bring them together for another drama filled with high school drama and rich people with attitudes?

Okay, I built a bridge and got over it. I decided to wait and see the drama before I getting too judgemental. I got to admit it wasn’t a sequel to “Boys Over Flowers” which is a good thing but at the same time it didn’t have anything special. It did have this American feel to it as it was partly filmed in LA (I think) and the American actors almost ruined this drama with their horrible acting. I mean seriously who casted them? Were they blind? No offence though.. But yeah, even the acting of Korean actors gave off this American feel. So that’s was what kept me interested.

It didn’t suck but I wouldn’t watch it again although some bits were seriously hilarious. Park Hyung Sik made my day several times (even saved this drama?). Also Kang Min Hyuk and Krystal were soooo adorable. I couldn’t help but to start shipping them. But still I just can’t get over that it wasn’t anything new story wise. This scenario is overused in my opinion. I don’t know why Park Shin Hye and Lee Min Ho took this role because they have so much potential. That’s why I’m disappointed.

I recommend this drama to those who want to erase the image of Lee Min Ho in “Boys Over Flowers” because he has a better hairstyle here. No perm!! Hurray! The kiss scene(s) is(are) intense also but Park Shin Hye really needs to learn how to enjoy a kiss because she looked like she was hurting and I know it can’t be true because come on…Lee Min Ho is the one kissing you!! So you better be enjoying it girl!

Cast:

Lee Min Ho as Kim Tan
Kim Tan

Park Shin Hye as Cha Eun Sang
Cha Eun Sang

Kim Woo Bin as Choi Young Do
Choi Young Do

Kang Min Hyuk as Yoon Chan Young
Yoon Chan Young

Krystal Jung as Lee Bo Na
Lee Bo Na

Kim Ji Won as Rachel Yoo
Rachel Yoo

Choi Jin Hyuk as Kim Won
Kim Won

Kang Ha Neul as Lee Hyo Shin
Lee Hyo Shin

Park Hyung Sik as Jo Myung Soo
Jo Myung Soo

Lim Ju Eun as Jeon Hyun Joo
Jeon Hyun Soo

Kim Sung Ryoung as Han Ki Ae
Han Ki Ae

Jeon Soo Jin as Kang Ye Sol
Kang Ye Sol

 

I’m finally back on track and hopefully I’ll finish reviewing the dramas I have already finished in a few weeks max. Been busy with school and everything. Had an exam in Russian and I was really nervous and scared but in the end I totally nailed it so now I’m kind of taking a break from heavy studying.  Okay, bye! ;D

2 thoughts on “High school drama “Boys Over Flowers 2”?

  1. Peter B says:

    I have watched several high school dramas,,,,usually American over the years. When I began watching The Heirs, Id never heard of any of the actors involved. Yes, including Park Shin Hye. (I live in Australia). I bought the drama simply from a short clip on the internet.This drama kept me sooo involved. I couldn’t wait for the next episode. OK, so this story of high school drama and romance is nothing new. It was the best one by far, that I have ever seen! We can all find faults in anything we watch. So Miss Park wasn’t that relaxed doing a kiss scene? The first one on the roof I assume you are talking about. Honestly, I thought it was appropriate for the scene. Were you soo busy being critical, that you forgot to take in the circumstances of that scene? That is a shame. You missed a great drama and fine acting,

    • inspiredfan says:

      Yes, I agree that the acting was great. That was expected as I know Lee Min Ho and Park Shin Hye are VERY talented actors. I was only disappointed about their choice to act in another high school drama because they have SO much potential. They are considered one of the best actors in Korea and I think that they should live up to that name and become even greater. But in Korea the poor-high-school-girl-meets-rich-high-school-guy-and-fall-in-love scenario is too overused and it’s honestly getting boring.
      Now, about the kissing. Park Shin Hye is a great actress but her kissing scenes in all dramas (except the the last kissing scene in “Flower Boy Next Door”) are a bit lacking. You just have to look it up and see it yourself. And I’m not talking about the “roof kiss” but about the “closet kiss”. She did better than she usually does but still her facial expressions there are just blah..You can see she is not enjoying the kiss at all.
      It was a great high school drama with great acting but I would have expected something more from the too great cast.

Leave a Reply

