“Monstar”, the korean “Glee”

Monstar-05

I have mixed feelings about this drama. I really liked the musical numbers and how the songs were rearranged. It kind of reminded of “Glee” and let me tell you, I really like Glee, well the first two-three seasons. But at the same time that the storyline of this drama could have been better.

I got it at the end that this drama concentrated on the students’ psychological wounds and how music helped them to heal them but the way it was shown thorough the story, it sometimes made me confused. It felt like that there was a story going on too but then it just ended like that leaving the story unfinished… Gaaah I hate open endings.

As for the acting I feel that Junhyung was too inexperienced as an actor but I totally get why he was chosen because of his wide musical knowledge. I’m not saying he can’t act but for the leading role and for this kind of drama, where the focus is on feelings and emotions I feel like he was not the best choice. I’m not so sure about the other actors because they are all unfamiliar to me but with this drama they didn’t impress me much with their acting.

The only thing that I really liked about this drama was indeed the music. I’m a musician myself and I always like to watch musical performances and this drama had many of those. I was very impressed by the vocals and even how the actors imitated to play the instruments was good to watch. I’m talking about the part where Kang Ha Neul plays the cello.

I’m not sure if this drama is for everyone but I would watch it for the musical numbers.

 

Cast:

Yong Jun Hyung as Yoon Seol Chan
junhyng

Ha Yeon Soo as Min Se Yi
yeonsoo

Kang Ha Neul as Jung Sun Woo
haneul

Kim Min Young as Sim Eun Ha
imgsrc_16743

Da Hee as Kim Na Na
dahee___kim_nana__monstar__by_maarsakurita-d6hz8ce

 

Little bit about what’s going on with me:
I wanted to post this earlier but unfortunately Windows 8 didn’t want to cooperate with me and I had to take my computer to somebody who understands them better than me. I usually know how to fix problems myself but I’m not very familiar with Windows 8 and I’m slightly annoyed with it. Oh well…

Also I’m now 18. Yes, I’m now a grown-up. I can drink, go clubbing and do all that legally now which makes me feel very old and makes me think how fast time goes. Soon I’ll be out of high school and starting my own home. It’s kind of freaking me out because I know there’s nothing I can do to stop time no matter how much I want to. I just miss the old times…

Well the next drama ‘review’ will be up during this week and definitely watch out for more during the weekend. =)

Leave a Reply

