My wonderland: Estonia

1_1_5572752

Sorry, this post is not about kdrama.

Today is or in my case was a very important day. Today is the Independence Day of Estonia. Why is it so important? Why am I blogging about it?

Well, my country is small…like really small. We are talking about an area of 45,227 sqkm and population of 1,3 million people. Sooo..extremely small.

800px-Estonia_in_the_world_(W3).svg

 

And it makes me proud thinking that we even have our own country. We have a history of being under many different countries but we still managed to keep our culture alive and gain independence…it still seems like a miracle.

24th Feburuary, 1918 the first time Estonia gained independence after winning the Estonian war of Independence against Soviet Russia and Germany. I really recommend watching this movie “Names in Marble” to get to know how hard our people fought for freedom. And for twenty-two years we managed to maintain this freedom.

The fate of  Estonia in World War II was decided by the German-Soviet Nonaggression Pact and its Secret Additional Protocol of August 1939. Estonia was to go under the Soviet Union and unfortunately in 1940 the Soviet military occupation was completed.

In 1941 German invaded Soviet Union and initially Estonians welcomed Germans. Hopes were raised for the restoration of Estonia’s independence but it was soon realised that they were another occupying power.

In 1944 the Soviet forces reconquered Estonia and it wasn’t until 1989 that people started to really stand up against the Soviet Union. This period of time is called “Singing Revolution” and one of the landmarks of demonstration for more independence was  the Baltic Way,  a human chain of more than two million people was formed, stretching through Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.

50db3838-6585-4dcf-8445-9b2f839ab252

 

Also during “Singing Revolution” about 300,000 Estonians came together in the capital city Tallinn to sing national songs and hymns that were strictly forbidden during the years of the Soviet occupation.

4-6-7

 

These events brought us together and the fight ended on 20 August 1991 when the independence of Estonia was declared once again. The Soviet troops tried to storm Tallinn TV Tower but they were not successful. I know that my dad was there to protect the TV Tower but it never turned violent.

So we have two days where we celebrate our independence because from 1918 to 1991 we were still hanging on to our culture and language with both hands and didn’t let go for a second. We were still singing national songs that’s why we have the big Song Festival in the summer.

24785838

We do have a small country but I’m so proud to be Estonian and to be living in this beautiful country.

DSCF1508

5473635_7FipVh Jägala_juga

 

?????????? file64125989_c427380d alutaguse munamae-suur-munamagi-vaatetorn-haanja-haanjamaa-turism-lumi-talv-65590820

 

0372-265_nilson_4368x2912 (1)

 

Long live Estonia!

Elagu Eesti!

Tell me about your country.

2 thoughts on “My wonderland: Estonia

  1. kelly199865 says:

    It’s really nice to be proud of your nationality and to post it here! I am really conflicted as to which country I belong to because I was born in Ireland but my parents are Chinese. Whenever I say I’m Irish people would say “no, you’re not, seriously where are you from?” I get offended at times but I’m used to it now. Then when I say I’m Chinese when I’m in China, people don’t agree at all because I speak English with my Chinese. (I can’t form a perfect Chinese sentence, there are always one word or two that are English) I just don’t know anymore and I think it is a blessing for you to be a proud Estonian. I don’t know much about the history of Ireland or China so I don’t know what to tell you:P I just have a question because I’m really curious if you knew all the stuff you wrote out of your head of did you do research? If you knew the history of your country off by heart. There is only one word I can say. Respect.

    • inspiredfan says:

      Yeah, I know what you’re saying. My aunt lives in Germany and both of her children have Estonian citizenship and they sometimes find it difficult to fit in but it’s not that bad because they are from the same continent. All I can say for you is to be yourself and don’t let those narrow-minded people get to you.
      In Estonia the history is really important to everybody and that’s why schools but extra effort to make sure that it won’t be forgotten and well you will pick up something when through all these years they teach you the same things over and over again. So I have to thank my teachers for giving me the knowledge about my country’s history and wikipedia because to I put it down in English needs another two years of learning.
      Well thank you, I guess =)
      Oh and I also started learning Chinese last year and well it’s been very interesting…meaning that I’m not so good at it 😀

Leave a Reply

